

STORMWATER TOWN HALL MEETING

Board of Commissioners March 4,2013 7:00 P.M.

<u>Notice</u>: A complete audio recording of this meeting can be heard by accessing Fayette County's Website at www.fayettecountyga.gov. Click on "Board of Commissioners", then "County Commission Meetings", and follow the instructions. The entire meeting or a single topic can be heard.

:The Board of Commissioners of Fayette County, Georgia, met in Official Session on March 4, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in the Public Meeting Room of the Fayette County Administrative Complex, 140 Stonewall Avenue, Fayetteville, Georgia.

Commissioners Present: Steve Brown, Chairman

Charles Oddo, Vice Chairman

David Barlow Allen McCarty Randy Ognio

Staff Present: Steve Rapson, County Administrator

Floyd Jones, County Clerk

Phil Mallon, Public Works Director Tony Parrott, Water System Director

Vanessa Birrell, Stormwater Management Director

Bryan Keller

Call to Order, Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Brown called the Stormwater Town Hall Meeting to order at 6:59 p.m. Commissioner Barlow offered the Invocation.

Chairman Brown led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Town Hall Meeting:

1. Opening Remarks by Chairman Steve Brown.

Chairman Brown gave some opening remarks about the difficult decisions that the Board of Commissioners would have to make, but added that the Board of Education was also meeting and would have to make difficult decisions as well

2. Stormwater PowerPoint Presentation.

Chairman Brown presented a PowerPoint Document to the audience. He reminded the audience that during the first town hall meeting, he promised several property owners that he would visit their property. He then discussed the properties that he visited and if the County could help rectify the problems he found. Chairman Brown and County Administrator Rapson reviewed some of the suggestions made by the citizens during the first Town Hall meeting and the County's findings on those suggestions. A copy of the PowerPoint presentation, identified as "Attachment 1", follows these minutes and is made an official part hereof.

3. Public Input.

The following people commented and provided input during the Town Hall Meeting:

- 1) Richard Maxwell, Highway 92
- 2) Larry Redding, Woosley (did not provide an address)
- 3) Sandy Lake Circle (Speaker did not provide a name.)
- 4) Jerry Mayfield, Sandy Creek Road
- 5) Louise McKnight, 100 Bridger Point Road
- 6) Leonard Terrell (?), Harp Road
- 7) Harris McFarren, Rising Star Road
- 8) Mickey Harp (did not provide an address)
- 9) Rick Minter (did not provide an address)
- 10) Pat Hinchey (did not provide an address)
- 11) Larry Wright, Stanley Road
- 12) Marion McKaren, 1685 Highway 54 East
- 13) Darwin Edwards, Shoal Creek Road
- 14) Dan Hogan (did not provide an address)
- 15) Tim Thoms, 625 McBride Road, Fayetteville
- 16) Gene Jenkins, 510 Hawthorne Drive
- 17) Laura Maxwell (did not provide an address)
- 18) Cheryl Pressler, 105 Kayla Drive
- 19) Ted Tools, River Forest Subdivision
- 20) Fred Albrecht, 383 Gingercake Road, Fayetteville
- 21) Joe Mask, 115 Bernhard Road
- 22) Ferrell Bray, Fletcher Ford Road
- 23) Clint Stokes, 210 Highland Hills Road
- 24) Arthur Terry, 349 Lees Lake Road
- 25) Roy Terry, 335 Peaceful Way
- 26) Robert Torbush, 422 Lees Lake Road
- 27) Walter Fort, 626 Inman Road
- 28) Speaker Unknown, 127 Buckeye Road, Fayetteville
- 29) Bill Schley, 287 Mud Bridge Road, Woolsey
- 30) Mary Carol Schley, 287 Mud Bridge Road, Woolsey
- 31) Paul Arnold, 209 Price Road, Fayetteville
- 32) Speaker Unknown, 319 Adams Road, Fayetteville (Recording unclear)
- 33) Louise McKnight, 100 Bridger Point Road (spoke for a second time)
- 34) Preston Twyman, 145 Blossom Ridge Trail, Fayetteville

- 35) Henry Dickerson, Woolsey
- 36) Jenny Parker, 265 Price Road, Brooks
- 37) Charles Gilreath, 235 Brookshire Drive, Fayetteville
- 38) Bill Ballard, 1160 Antioch Road, Fayetteville
- 39) Unidentified speaker, 283 Hills Bridge, Fayetteville

Five additional people spoke who did not provide either a name or an address for the record.

The following suggestions were provided by those who spoke:

- 1) Stormwater Maintenance needs to be a county-wide effort for all of Fayette County's citizens; not just unincorporated Fayette County.
- 2) Georgia Power should pay for pile-ons, concrete abutments and other impervious surfaces that belong to them.
- The Stormwater Department needs to be put under the County's Road Maintenance Department so that every citizen in Fayette County can be taxed fairly.
- 4) Communicate with the citizens better, some do not get newspapers thrown in their driveways and did not know about the Stormwater fee until it was mailed to them in December.
- 5) Keep library, recreation, schools, and other similar services that retains Fayette County's youth and will undermine the County's future if they are cut.
- 6) Use the money paid for "road taxes" to make the repairs.
- 7) Citizens take individual initiative to repair the problems that are on their property, and the county should send someone who is knowledgeable to the property of each person who complains to guide them on how to fix the problems.
- 8) Stop repaying roads over rotted corrugated pipes.
- 9) Preventative maintenance needs to be practiced all the time, not just when a road needs attention.
- 10) The problem with the bill is that it is hard to know what is being billed.
- 11) Is there consideration of a moratorium on new development since it the County cannot afford to fix what is already here how can it maintain new development.
- 12) It appears that if someone has acreage then they are paying more money, and that is not fair. The whole system needs to be scrapped.
- 13) Road crew to survey all of Price Road.
- 14) The County needs to live within its budget each year, and each year fix what it can.

4. Announce Monday, March 25 as third Stormwater Town Hall Meeting.

Chairman Brown announced that the next Stormwater Town Hall Meeting would be held on March 25, 2013.

Stormwater Town Hall Meeting Minutes March 4, 2013 Page Number 4
Adjournment
The March 4, 2013 Stormwater Town Hall Meeting was adjourned at 9:39 p.m.

The foregoing minutes were duly approved at an official meeting of the Board of Commissioners of Fayette County, Georgia, held on the 14th day of March 2013.

Steve Brown, Chairman

Floyd L. Jones, County Clerk

Floyd L. Jones, County Clerk