BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Lee Hearn, Chairman Edward Gibbons, Vice Chairman Eric K. Maxwell Charles W. Oddo Charles D. Rousseau

FAYETTE COUNTY, GEORGIA

Steve Rapson, County Administrator Dennis A. Davenport, County Attorney Tameca P. Smith, County Clerk Marlena Edwards, Chief Deputy County Clerk

140 Stonewall Avenue West Public Meeting Room Fayetteville, GA 30214

ACTION AGENDA April 25, 2023 5:00 p.m.

Welcome to the meeting of your Fayette County Board of Commissioners. Your participation in County government is appreciated. All regularly scheduled Board meetings are open to the public and are held on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month at 5:00 p.m.

Call to Order

Chairman Lee Hearn called the April 25, 2023 Board of Commissioners meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. A quorum of the Board was present. Vice Chairman Gibbons was absent.

Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance by Commissioner Eric Maxwell

Chairman Lee Hearn offered the invocation and led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Acceptance of Agenda

Commissioner Oddo moved to accept the agenda as written with the removal of Item #1. Commissioner Rousseau seconded. The motion passed 4-0. Vice Chairman Edward Gibbons was absent.

PROCLAMATION/RECOGNITION:

- 1. Recognition of Lieutenant Steve Sullivan for receiving the American Legion, Post 105, Public Safety Recognition Award.
- 2. Recognition from the local Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) of the Fayette County Fire & Emergency Services 2023 Firefighter of the Year, FAO/Paramedic Daniel Young, and Fayette County 911 2023 Communications Officer of the Year, Amber Morris.

PUBLIC HEARING:

PUBLIC COMMENT:

Speakers will be given a five (5) minute maximum time limit to speak before the Board of Commissioners about various topics, issues, and concerns. Speakers must direct comments to the Board. Responses are reserved at the discretion of the Board.

CONSENT AGENDA:

Commissioner Oddo moved to approve the Consent Agenda. Chairman Hearn seconded. The motion passed 4-0. Vice Chairman Edward Gibbons was absent.

3. Request to acquire all fee simple right-of-way, easements, and appraisals for the proposed 2017 SPLOST; Stormwater Category II, Tier II Project 170 Angela Drive Culvert Replacement (19SBS).

- 4. Request to acquire all fee simple right-of-way, easements, and appraisals for the proposed 2017 SPLOST; Stormwater Category II, Tier II Project 110 Branchwood Court Culvert Replacement (19SBR).
- 5. Request to acquire all fee simple right-of-way, easements, and appraisals for the proposed 2017 SPLOST; Stormwater Category II, Tier II Project 165 North Bend Court Culvert Replacement (21SAL).
- 6. Request to acquire all fee simple right-of-way, easements, and appraisals for the proposed 2017 SPLOST; Stormwater Category II, Tier II Project 220 Old Ivy Culvert Replacement (20SAE).
- 7. Request to acquire all fee simple right-of-way, easements, and appraisals for the proposed 2017 SPLOST; Stormwater Category II, Tier II Project 125 Ridge Brook Court Culvert Replacement (21SAM).
- 8. Approval of the April 13, 2023 Board of Commissioners Meeting Minutes.

OLD BUSINESS: NEW BUSINESS:

9. Request to ratify an appointment by Town of Tyrone of Gail Joiner to the Fayette County Library Board for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2023 and expiring December 31, 2026.

Commissioner Oddo moved to approve to ratify an appointment by Town of Tyrone of Gail Joiner to the Fayette County Library Board for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2023 and expiring December 31, 2026. Commissioner Maxwell seconded. Vice Chairman Edward Gibbons was absent.

10. Request to approve a recommendation from the Selection Committee comprised of Fayette County Staff, to appoint Dr. William Yarde to the Fayette County Water Committee for an unexpired term beginning immediately and expiring December 31, 2024.

Commissioner Oddo moved to approve a recommendation from the Selection Committee comprised of Fayette County Staff, to appoint Dr. William Yarde to the Fayette County Water Committee for an unexpired term beginning immediately and expiring December 31, 2024. Commissioner Maxwell seconded. The motion passed 4-0. Vice Chairman Edward Gibbons was absent.

11. Request to award a bid for the purchase of the sewer easement and temporary construction easement over Tax Parcel ID 0726 017, (easement location known as Fayette County Fire Station #3) to 74 South, LLC.

Commissioner Oddo moved to approve to award a bid for the purchase of the sewer easement and temporary construction easement over Tax Parcel ID 0726 017, (easement location known as Fayette County Fire Station #3) to 74 South, LLC. Commissioner Maxwell seconded. The motion passed 4-0. Vice Chairman Gibbons was absent.

12. Request to approve an agreement for use of Fayetteville First Baptist Church Parking for overflow during county elections (201AE - Elections - old Fire Station #4).

Commissioner Rousseau moved to approve an agreement for use of Fayetteville First Baptist Church Parking for overflow during county elections (201AE - Elections - old Fire Station #4). Commissioner Oddo seconded. The motion passed 4-0. Vice Chairman Gibbons was absent.

ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORTS:

A: Contract #2018-P: Public Works Engineer of Record; Task Order 11: Tyrone Road at Flat Creek Trail Intersection Improvements

ATTORNEY'S REPORTS:

Notice of Executive Session: County Attorney Dennis Davenport stated that there were four items for Executive Session. Three items involving threatened litigation and one item of real estate acquisition.

COMMISSIONERS' REPORTS:

Commissioner Rousseau made comments.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Three items involving threatened litigation and one item of real estate acquisition. Commissioner Oddo moved to go into Executive Session. Commissioner Rousseau seconded. The motion passed 4-0. Vice Chairman Gibbons was absent.

The Board recessed into Executive Session at 5:49 p.m. and returned to Official Session at 7:05 p.m.

Return to Official Session and Approval to Sign the Executive Session Affidavit: Commissioner Oddo moved to return to Official Session and for the Chairman to sign the Executive Session Affidavit. Commissioner Rousseau seconded. The motion passed 4-0. Vice Chairman Gibbons was absent.

ADJOURNMENT:

Commissioner Oddo moved to adjourn the April 25, 2023 Board of Commissioners meeting. Commissioner Rousseau seconded. The motion passed 4-0. Vice Chairman Gibbons was absent.

The April 25, 2023 Board of Commissioners meeting adjourned at 7:06 p.m.

Marlena M. Edwards, Chief Deputy County Clerk

Lee Hearn, Chairman

The foregoing minutes were duly approved at an official meeting of the Board of Commissioners of Fayette County, Georgia, held on the 11th day of May 2023. Attachments are available upon request at the County Clerk's Office.

Marlena Edwards, Chief Deputy County Clerk