

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MARCH 16, 2020

MARCH 24, 2020 PRESIDENTIAL PREFERENCE PRIMARY POSTPONED

The Fayette County Board of Elections and Voter Registration has announced that the March 24, 2020 Presidential Preference Primary along with its associated early, In-Person voting has been postponed. This means all early voting at the Fayette County Administrative Complex, the Peachtree City Library, and the Tyrone Town Hall has stopped.

This postponement was made after Georgia Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger directed that the March 24, 2020 Presidential Preference Primary be postponed across the entire state. The purpose of this postponement is for the general welfare and protection of the voting public, Elections officials, and poll workers- many of whom are elderly and susceptible to the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Voters may continue to request Absentee by Mail ballots by contacting the Fayette County Board of Elections at (770) 305-5408. Absentee by Mail ballots will be issued until close of business on Friday, March 20, 2020.

The Presidential Preference Primary will resume in conjunction with the General Primary Election to be held on Tuesday, May 19. Early, In-Person voting for the May 19, 2020 General Primary Election will begin on Monday, April 27, will continue for three weeks including Saturday, May 9, and will conclude on Friday, May 15.

The Fayette County Board of Elections assures all who have already voted for their choice of President that their vote will be counted. Those who already voted early for President will be provided a May ballot with all eligible candidates for office apart from the Presidential candidate. Those votes- made on two ballots- will be counted on May 19.

Those who have not already voted for the Office of President will be provided one combined ballot for their selection of President and all other candidates.

All votes will be tabulated on May 19 at 7:00 p.m.

The Board of Elections encourages all Fayette voters to contact the Elections Office at (770) 305-5408 for questions or concerns during this time.

Contact: Floyd L. Jones, Director of Elections and Voter Registration Office: (770) 305-5138